ABOUT US

 

History

In its early years, Phyllis Wheatley was a safe place for young African American women to seek shelter and to receive guidance and marketable skill development. Gradually, the agency became the center of the African American social scene, and it evolved into a home-away-from-home for numerous African American civic leaders, educators, entertainers, and students. The Wheatley, as it was affectionately called, was the only place in Minneapolis where non-whites were permitted to lodge during those days.


Today Phyllis Wheatley programs address the needs of children, youth, families, and elders by providing tailored education and skill-building opportunities to help individuals and families discover their strengths, develop their personal networks of support, and take control of their futures.

OUR TEAM

 

Leadership Team

Suzanne Fuller Burks

Executive Director

suzanneb@phylliswheatley.org

Jimelle Duncan

V.P. of Finance & Operations
jimelled@phylliswheatley.org
612-977-3242

Melissa Donovan

Director of Early Childhood Services,
Mary T. Wellcome Child
Development Center

melissad@phylliswheatley.org
612-977-3251

Brad Bourn

V.P. of Programs and Development
bradb@phylliswheatley.org
612-423-9901

Debra Bushrod

Women’s Program Coordinator
debrab@phylliswheatley.org
612-977-3254 

Meghan Hanna

Adult Program Assistant
megh@phylliswheatley.org
612-977-3241

Dr. Wilma Mckinnies

Men’s Program Coordinator
wilmam@phylliswheatley.org
612-977-3250

Quanda Arch

Program Manager,

DigitalTechWorks Academy
quandaa@phylliswheatley.org
612-977-3261

Theresa Munson

Program Coordinator,

DigitalTechWorks Academy
TheresaM@phylliswheatley.org
612-977-3245

Lucius Luther

Youth Trauma Program Manager
luciusl@phylliswheatley.org
612-977-3249

Tamiko Edwards

be@school Case Manager
tamikoe@phylliswheatley.org
612-977-3252

Mary T. Wellcome Child Development Center

Angelfish Classroom (Toddlers),

612-977-3244

Jayme Williams
Starfish Classroom (Preschool),

612-977-3255

Keisha Chatman
Willie Johnson
Dolphin Classroom (Pre-K),

612-977-3260

Latrice Lewis
Asia Timberlake

Board of Directors

Board

PWCC Site Photos_Angela.jpg
Angela M. Dixon,
J.D., Chair

Proprietor, Dixon Training Group

PWCC Site Photos_Douglas.jpg
Douglas Hill, Vice Chair

Director of Operations/Construction Management
Minneapolis Public Schools

PWCC Site Photos_Laura.jpg
Laura Danielson, Secretary/Treasurer

Shareholder & Chair of Immigration Dept, Fredrikson & Byron, P.A.

PWCC Site Photos_Lorinda.jpg
Lorinda Burgess

VP of Finance Americas Region, Medtronic

Photo_Batala-Ra McFarlane.jpg
Batala-Ra McFarlane

Publisher, McFarlane Media Interests

Photo_Kenard Rockette.jpg
Kenard Rockette

Database Administrator,
Fredrikson & Byron, P.A.

PWCC Site Photos.jpg
Clyde Turner

Founder, Clyde Turner Basketball Camps