ABOUT US

 

History | Phyllis Wheatley Community Center

In its early years, Phyllis Wheatley was a safe place for young African American women to seek shelter and to receive guidance and marketable skill development. Gradually, the agency became the center of the African American social scene, and it evolved into a home-away-from-home for numerous African American civic leaders, educators, entertainers, and students. The Wheatley, as it was affectionately called, was the only place in Minneapolis where non-whites were permitted to lodge during those days.

Today Phyllis Wheatley programs address the needs of children, youth, families, and elders by providing tailored education and skill-building opportunities to help individuals and families discover their strengths, develop their personal networks of support, and take control of their futures.
wheatley-house_350.webp

2022 Board of Directors 

PWCC Site Photos_Angela.jpg
PWCC Site Photos_Douglas.jpg
Douglas Hill 
Chair

Director of Operations/Construction Management
Minneapolis Public Schools

mcgregor.jpg
James McGregor, Jr.
Vice Chair

CEO

Reach1Records

Scott Morris.jfif
Scott Morris
Treasurer

Global Diversity and Inclusion Initiatives Strategist

3M

laura danielson.jpg
Laura Danielson
Secretary

Immigration Lawyer

Fredrikson & Byron, P.A.

PWCC Site Photos_Lorinda.jpg
Lorinda Burgess

VP of Finance Americas Region

Medtronic

Erica Edwards.jfif
Erica Edwards

Manager, Talent Acquisition

Caribou Coffee

Photo_Batala-Ra McFarlane.jpg
Batala-Ra McFarlane

Publisher

McFarlane Media Interests

Photo_Kenard Rockette.jpg
Kenard Rockette

Database Administrator
Fredrikson & Byron, P.A.

Adriene Thornton.jfif
Adriene Thornton

Manager, Health Equity

Children's Minnesota

OUR TEAM

 
Suzanne Fuller Burks

Executive Director

SuzanneB@phylliswheatley.org

Katy Nelson

Director, Development & Communications

KatyN@phylliswheatley.org

Vice President, Finance and Operations

JimelleD@phylliswheatley.org

612.977.3242

Melissa Donovan

Director, Early Childhood Programs

MelissaD@phylliswheatley.org

612.977.3251

Brad Bourn

VP, Programs and Development 

BradB@phylliswheatley.org

Amondo Dickerson

Interim VP of Non-County Programs

AmondoD@phylliswheatley.org

Dr. Wilma Mckinnies

Men’s Program Coordinator

WilmaM@phylliswheatley.org

612.977.3250

Lucius Luther

Cross-Program Case Manager

LuciusL@phylliswheatley.org

612.977.3249

Administrative Support Coordinator

EmilyM@phylliswheatley.org

612.977.3241

Digital TechWorks Academy

Darnell Dickerson

School Success Program Coordinator

DarnellD@phylliswheatley.org

612.977.3264

Debra Bushrod

Women’s Program Coordinator

DebraB@phylliswheatley.org

612.977.3254 

Kimberly Caprini​​

Family Engagement Coordinator

KimberlyC@phylliswheatley.org

612.400.1446

Parenting Academy Program Manager

TamikoE@phylliswheatley.org

612-977-3252

Tamiko Robinson

Parenting Academy Case Manager

TamikoR@phylliswheatley.org

612-400-1452

CONTACT US

Phyllis Wheatley Community Center

1301 N. 10th Avenue

Minneapolis, MN 55411

info@phylliswheatley.org

(612) 374-4342

VISIT US

Office Hours

Monday - Friday

8:30am - 5:30pm

Mary T. Wellcome Hours

Monday - Friday

6:30am - 5:30pm